Read Poems, Hong Kong! Episode 4: January Gill O’Neil’s “How to Make a Crab Cake”

So today is Day 7 of my quarantine in Hong Kong, and I’m 1/3 of the way through my stay here at the Dorsett Wanchai. I look forward to, like many “quarantiners” do, to meal time. The food here is good, and I’m well fed, but I find myself missing some of the comforts of life back int he U.S. Even though I don’t live in Maryland any more, I have a deep appreciation for crab cakes and Old Bay seasoning, and also an appreciation for those who pick the crabs, separating meat from shell, and then for those who prepare crab cakes.

So today’s poem is “How to Make a Crab Cake” by January Gill O’Neil:

And if my reading is a bit lacking for you, here is a far superior reading of her own poem by January Gill O’Neil herself:

Read Poems, Hong Kong! Stay safe, and be well!

Scot

Leave a comment